The Church of God in Christ Commission on Ministry to the Military was established in Kansas City, Missouri in 1974 by Presiding Bishop J. O. Patterson, Sr. Chaplain (Lieutenant Colonel-Retired) Diana McNeil James was the first Chaplain endorsed by the Church of God in Christ. This was part of his vision of worldwide evangelism.  The Commission on Ministry to the Military emphasized ministering to young men and women serving some of the most prestigious institutions of our nation (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard). Bishop Patterson’s heart for worldwide evangelism caused him to recognize the need of ministering to these young men and women serving our nation. The name was later changed to Military/Institutional Chaplaincy to broaden our outreach.

The Military/Institutional Chaplaincy (MIC) is proud to endorse chaplains for the Armed Forces, Civil Air Patrol, National Guard, US Dept of Veterans Affairs, Department of Justice, hospice, hospitals, prisons, and public services.

The Ecclesiastical Commissioner/Endorser Line of Succession

The first COGIC Commissioner/Endorser was Bishop Ithiel C. Clemmons (1975-1987)

The second Commissioner/Endorser was Bishop Martin Luther Johnson (1988-2001)

The third Commissioner/Endorser was Bishop John I. Little (2001 – 2005)

The fourth Commissioner/Endorser was Bishop Samuel Morgan (2005 – 2014)

The fifth Commissioner/Endorser was Bishop J. Delano Ellis (2015 – 2017)

The present Commissioner/Endorser is Chaplain Carlos R. Bell (2018 – Present)